Info in English

About SMS

The Danish Society for Marxist Studies (Danish: Selskab for Marxistiske Studier, SMS) is an independent academic society in Denmark. The purpose of the society is to further interest and research in Karl Marx, Marxism and Marxist studies at Danish universities and other institutes of higher learning.

For this purpose, SMS organises an annual conference, Marx Now!, where scholars, students, and others can present their ongoing reserach, and where we are committed to  crossing the narrow disciplinary borders, which have always been a part of academia, but which Marxism has never fitted inside.

We thus understand ‘Marxism’ in the broadest possible definition of the term as the critical tradition emanating from Marx’s thought in its entire historical and theoretical breadth and depth, and SMS is not committed to any one particular theoretical or political position.

The Executive Commitee

The executive committee of SMS currently consists of the following members:

  • Mikkel Flohr
    Ph.D fellow, political theory, University of Roskilde
  • Jonas Larsen
    M.A., intellectual history
  • Lotte List
    Ph.D. fellow, politics and philosophy, Copenhagen Business School
  • Esben Bøgh Sørensen
    Ph.D fellow, intellectual history, Aarhus University
  • Søren Mau
    Postdoctoral researcher, King’s College London/University of Copenhagen
  • Magnus Møller Ziegler
    Ph.D. fellow, philosophy, Aarhus University
  • Marie Louise Krogh
    Ph.D. fellow, philosophy, Kingston University London